‘Unstoppable’ Spain defeated Croatia to become the third European Football Association (UEFA) Nations League champion.

Spain won the 2022-2023 UEFA Nations League final against Croatia 5-4 on penalties after the teams played to a 0-0 draw at halftime and then went on to win the tournament in extra time at the Stadion Feyenoord in Rotterdam, the Netherlands, on Monday (June 19).

It was Spain’s second consecutive final, avenging their runner-up finish in the previous edition.

Spain met France in the final of the 2021-2022 season and lost 1-2 after back-to-back goals from Karim Benzema (Al Ittihad) and Kylian Mbappe (Paris Saint-Germain), but beat Croatia that day to become the third country to win the tournament.토토사이트

They also lifted the trophy on national soil for the first time in 11 years since UEFA Euro 2012.

Croatia finished as runners-up, knocked out by Spain on penalties.

After some stellar performances in recent years, including a runner-up finish at the 2018 World Cup in Russia and a third-place finish at the 2022 World Cup in Qatar, they came into the Nations League in form, but will have to wait until next time.

Spain beat Italy 2-1 in the semifinals with a 43rd-minute winner from Joselu (Espanyol), while Croatia played the Netherlands 2-2 through 90 minutes in the semifinals before scoring twice in extra time to beat the Netherlands 4-2 in the final.


Spain’s Fabian Luis (Paris Saint-Germain) had a left-footed mid-range shot from outside the left penalty area narrowly saved by the goalkeeper in the ninth minute, and Alvaro Morata (Atletico Madrid), who was on the doorstep, tried to slide a second ball in with his right foot, but the offside flag was raised.

Croatia had the best chance of the game in the 23rd minute when Andrej Kramaric (Hoffenheim) was brought down in the penalty area by a Spanish combination, but the assistant referee ruled the play fair.

Neither side could find the back of the net in the second half, and the teams battled back and forth in stoppage time, but neither could find the winner.

Spain fired 21 shots but only two were on target, while Croatia fired 12 shots with five on target but could not find the back of the net.

The penalty shootout started with Croatia in the lead.

After both teams converted their third kicks, the momentum shifted in Spain’s favor when Croatia’s fourth kicker, Robro Mayer (Rennes), hit the post and bounced away.

Spain’s fourth kicker, Marco Asensio (Real Madrid), and Croatia’s fifth kicker, Ivan Perisic (Tottenham), both converted, and this time Spain’s fifth kicker, Aymeric Laporte (Manchester City), hit the crossbar to make it 4-4.

Croatia had one more dramatic penalty shootout opportunity, but sixth kicker Bruno Petkovic (Dinamo Zagreb) saw his shot saved by the goalkeeper, and Spain scored the winning goal with their last kicker, Daniel Carvajal (Real Madrid).

Croatia’s Marcelo Brozovic (Inter Milan) was named Man of the Match.

Spain’s Rodri (Manchester City) was named the tournament’s Most Valuable Player.

Italy celebrate after Chiesa’s goal.

Earlier in the day, Italy defeated the Netherlands 3-2 in the third-place match at The Hrols Fester in Enschede, Netherlands.

The Azzurri set the tone with goals from Federico DiMarco (Inter Milan) in the sixth minute and Davide Frattesi (Sassuolo) in the 20th minute.

The Dutch pulled a goal back in the 23rd minute through Stevan Berghuis (Ajax), but Italy responded with a third goal four minutes later through Federico Chiesa (Juventus).

Dutchman Giorginio Beynaldum (AS Roma) pulled one back in the 44th minute, but there was no more to come.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *